Can The Keto Diet Be Vegetarian

Vegetarianism has become more and more popular in recent years. While there are several reasons to be vegetarian, these are out of the scope of this article. What we are more concerned to know is, Can the Keto Diet Be Vegetarian?

Can The Keto Diet Be Vegetarian

Vegetarianism

Generally vegetarianism is that practice, or lifestyle, where an individual decides not to consume meat.

There are different types of vegetarian diets depending on the food that is allowed.

Some vegetarians allow themselves to eat fish meat.

Other vegetarians are more restrictive and also avoid dairy products, or eggs. Then there is the extreme case of vegans.

Vegetarianism can be a choice of life, due to religion, medical necessity and other reasons.

In recent years it has become very popular and society has quickly adapted to this option.

Restaurants are usually offering vegetarians meals and commercial products are readily available.

Whatever is the reason vegetarians has it’s fine can you follow a Keto Diet if you are Vegetarian?

Ketogenic Diet

The Ketogenic Diet is a diet that promotes Ketosis.

Ketosis is a metabolic state where your body burns fat as primary fuel for energy.

It is an efficient diet for people that want to drop their body fat percentage while keeping intact their lean mass.

To enter and stay in a Ketosis state the body needs to have a low presence of glucose, so you need to cut carbs.

On the other side you have to increase the fat intake to still provide enough fuel.

Protein intake must be kept moderate.

There is a specific macros ratio that should be ideally followed in order to stay in Ketosis and still provide enough nutrients.

These ratios would be 70% fat, 25% protein, 5% carbs.

So how do these Keto restrictions affect a vegetarian?

Can The Keto Diet Be Vegetarian

Vegetarianism and Keto Diet both have restrictions in their allowed food.

Vegetarian must avoid meat and Keto Diet limits a lot carbs.

So Can the Keto Diet be Vegetarian? Yes it still can, but with some conditions.

The main issue when you are Vegetarian and want to follow a Keto Diet relates to the proteins.

Meat is in most diets the main contributor for protein intake.

Meat is also an ideal food in the Keto Diet because it is low in carbs and fat and high in proteins.

In having said that, though, meat is not the only food containing proteins so yes, you can follow a Keto Diet if you are Vegetarian.

You can follow a Vegetarian Keto Diet as long as you satisfy the macros ratio requirements.

You need to make sure that your calorie intake is coming 70% from fat, 25% from proteins and 5% from carbs.

Cutting meat and fish out of the equation these are some of the food that can help you achieve your goal.

Cheese And Dairy

Milk is not a good drink in a Keto Diet due to the sugar content but other dairy products can be Keto Friendly.

Cheese and Greek Yogurt are generally high in fat and proteins and very low in carbs.

Eggs

Egg whites are a great source of proteins and the yolk contains good fat and vitamins.

Avocado

Superfood! It cointains healthy fat and proteins, a must in a Keto Diet.

Oils

Coconut oils, avocado oil, olive oil, they are all good sources of fat.

Seeds And Nuts

Seeds and nuts are very good option to get fat and proteins, keep in mind the calories though.

Soy

Soy products like soy sauce and tofu are good alternatives for proteins, still keeping low the carbs.

Conclusion

Both the Keto Diet and Vegetarianism have restrictions in the food that can be consumed.

It is possible to follow a Ketogenic Diet if you are Vegetarian though.

The Keto rules to follow are not in regards to the food to eat, they are more related to the ratio of the macronutrients.

So as long as you satisfy the macro percentages, you can eat the food you want.

Leave a Comment