Can The Keto Diet Be Vegan

Veganism has become more and more popular in recent years. While there are several reasons to be vegan, these are out of the scope of this article. What we are more concerned to know is, Can the Keto Diet Be Vegan?


Generally veganism is that practice, or lifestyle, where an individual decides not to consume food the comes from animal. It is similar to being vegetarian but more extreme. Vegans do not eat any product that comes from animal, including dairy, eggs, meat, fish. If it comes from an animal it is not allowed.

Veganism can be a choice of life, due to religion, medical necessity or another reasons. In recent years it has become very popular and society has quickly adapted to this option. Restaurants are usually offering vegan options and meals, and commercial products are readily available.

Whatever is the reason, it’s fine, but can you follow a Keto Diet if you are Vegan?

Ketogenic Diet

The Ketogenic Diet is a diet that promotes Ketosis. Ketosis is a metabolic state where your body burns fat as primary fuel for energy. It is an efficient diet for people that want to drop their body fat percentage while keeping intact their lean mass.

To enter and stay in a Ketosis state the body needs to have a low presence of glucose, so you need to cut carbs. On the other side you have to increase the fat intake to still provide enough fuel. Protein intake must be kept moderate. There is a specific macros ratio that should be ideally followed in order to Stay in Ketosis and still provide enough nutrients. These ratios would be 70% fat, 25% protein, 5% carbs.

So how do these Keto restrictions affect a vegans?

Can The Keto Diet Be Vegan

Veganism and Keto Diet both have restrictions in their allowed food. Vegans must avoid meat and Keto Diet limits a lot carbs. So Can the Keto Diet be Vegan? I want to be honest and, it is hard for a Vegan to follow a Ketogenic Diet.

The main issue when you are Vegan and want to follow a Keto Diet relates to the proteins and fat. Meat is in most diets the main contributor for protein intake. Meat is also an ideal food in the Keto Diet because it is low in carbs and fat and high in proteins. Dairy is an ideal source of fat and protein while maintaining carbs low. Meat and dairy are not the only food containing proteins and fat, there are alternatives but it is still hard to satisfy the macronutrient requirements with a Vegan Diet. It might be possible for you to follow a Keto Diet if you are Vegan, but you will have to try and build a custom plan.

You can follow a Vegan Keto Diet as long as you satisfy the macros ratio requirements. You need to make sure that your calorie intake is coming 70% from fat, 25% from proteins and 5% from carbs.

Cutting meat, fish, dairy and eggs out of the equation will make it a difficult mission but these are some of the food that can help you achieve your goal.


Superfood! It cointains healthy fat and proteins, a must in a Keto Diet.


Coconut oils, avocado oil, olive oil, they are all good sources of fat.

Seeds And Nuts

Seeds and nuts are very good option to get fat and proteins, keep in mind the calories though.


Soy products like soy sauce and tofu are good alternatives for proteins, still keeping low the carbs.


Both the Keto Diet and Veganism have restrictions in the food that can be consumed. Can the Keto Diet be Vegan? It might be but, no secret, it is hard. The Keto rules to follow are not in regards to the food to eat, they are more related to the ratio of the macronutrients. So as long as you satisfy the macro percentages, you can eat the food you want.

Scroll to Top